They are the final pair in the Polish Country Club Golf Championship and are tied for the lead.
The 18th hole is a beautiful par four, with a deep valley which descends down to a dogleg right.
Both Aleksander and Tarben hit long, straight, tee shots, which disappear down into the valley.
A short time later, the fore caddie appears at the top of the hill and announces that both balls are within a foot of each other, but there’s a problem. Both of the golf balls are Titleist #4’s.
Aleksander and Tarben look at each other and realize that they had not informed each other as to what kind of ball they were playing, nor its number.
They quickly descend into the valley, and sure enough, their two Titleist golf balls are right next to each at the bottom of the valley, slap bang in the middle of the fairway.
Tarben looks at Aleksander and says, “We had better get a ruling from a tournament official to straighten this out. This is the Polish Country Club Championship and we don’t want to be disqualified for making a mistake and hitting the wrong ball. After all, we are tied for the lead.”
Soon after, a rules official appears and examines the two #4 Titleist golf balls.
He then looks up at Aleksander and Tarben and says, “Which one of you is playing the orange ball?”
Image used under a Collective Commons License from: https://pixabay.com/photos/country-club-golf-course-golf-green-413902/